OOTD: Summer 2017 {Part 2} + MPLS FOOD

Hi again,

Another post, and so soon! Incredible! Upon my return from Oslo, I was eager to dive back into the Minneapolis food scene. It’s one of the best I’ve encountered, if you’re willing to dig.

So our first stop, as is tradition, was Yum! Kitchen and Bakery. My family has been going there consistently for years. YEARS. It’s a tried-and-true joint (of two locations) that caters to the masses, nearly perfecting every recipe. I didn’t take any pictures, because I always do, but I got their Pad Thai and of course, their Paddy Cake. You have not lived if you have not tried their Paddy Cake. It’s probably the most moist chocolate cake you will ever encounter. It keeps well, too. I’m considering applying for a job just so I can get my hands on that recipe. Like a real-life Plankton, this is my Krabby Patty secret formula. To put it in perspective: My brother does not really eat or like chocolate (he sounds like a psychopath, I know). But he, like everyone else, LOVES Paddy Cake. Why? I couldn’t even tell you.

IMG_0202.jpg
This pic was actually taken over a year ago

Second stop was The Copper Hen. A very rustic, Minnesota-chic cafe-turned-restaurant on Eat Street. In addition to being very aesthetically pleasing, the restaurant offers a curated menu of adapted American and Western-Euro dishes: You have hipster American burgers, pizza, fish & chips… etc. Don’t let that scare you off though. For the bougie, granola foodie maven like myself, these dishes taste as exciting as they look.

Warning, however, their food is surprisingly salty. We all shared the same thoughts on each of our dishes. I don’t think that’s a bad thing though ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset
The best deviled eggs
Processed with VSCO with c9 preset
Fish and chips, pizza, turkey burger
Processed with VSCO with c6 preset
Peach cobbler

The final stop on this weekend’s food fest was The NightHawk on Nicollet for Brunch. This is a diner, but for some reason my family decided to dress up. This is actually where the OOTD came from. You’ll see below. I was so overdressed it’s not even funny. I was even slipping on the hardwood floors because these new heeled mules have zero traction. But I digress. We sat at the bar and got to watch the incredible chefs making the food: Grilled AND baked French Toast, Lemon/Blueberry pancakes, Chorizo/Corn pancakes, cloud biscuits and gravy… It’s like the jacked diner of your dreams. I will be back very soon.

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset
The Landon: Sweet Potato hash 

Oh, I also got a puppy. Tiny detail I forgot to mention….

Here’s the OOTD! Everything I’m wearing is new, so I just had to put them all together. I bought the pants at Monki in Oslo. Monki, Weekday, Mango and Zara are my fave stops in Oslo and beyond. I believe the former two are originally Scandinavian. These four are GOLD MINES for the trendiest and cheapest clothing. At stores like Zara I typically head to the sale section first, but the first three are so affordable I can get the most up-to-date clothes without the guilt.

My mother bought me this shirt from WhoWhatWear’s collection at Target, I believe. Good stuff. The Mules are from ASOS, the affordable and trendy shoe empire. Despite having zero traction on well-buffed hard floors, they’re surprisingly comfortable and easy to walk in. Not to mention how adorable and versatile they are! I recommend these or any version of them if you’re trying to slowly add color into your shoe game.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

I love the flared sleeves with the flared culotte-esque pants. They compliment each other well. Gingham, also, is the better cousin of florals in the spring staples family. So I try to pounce whenever I happen to see clever pieces clad in the pattern.

Processed with VSCO with c7 preset

Top: WhoWhatWear for Target

Pants: Monki

Shoes: ASOS

Bracelets: Cape Cod bracelets and anklet

 

That’s all for now. Catch ya l8r

T

Leave a Reply

